Robert Taylor, Chef

Ruth Brugh, Mr. Taylor’s mother, was an invalid throughout his childhood and he learned to cook in self-defense.  Barbara Stanwyck, his first wife, had no interest in the culinary arts so he continued to prepare meals much of the time. Bob Taylor loved cookbooks and had a large collection.  During his marriage to Ursula Thiess he continued to cook whenever possible despite her talent in the kitchen.  His technique was to read a number of recipes for similar dishes and then create his own.  The following recipe appeared in the Milwaukee Journal on April 2, 1961.  I haven’t tried it (my husband cooks, I microwave) but if anyone does, please let me know how it comes out. I’ve made an effort to copy it accurately but no guarantees.

Cooking on the set of “Conspirator” with Liz Taylor

Robert Taylor’s Chicken in Cider

2 breasts and 2 whole legs of chicken, cut into 8 pieces
1/4 cup flour
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper
6 tablespoons butter or margarine
1 medium onion, finely chopped
1/3 cup flour
1 1/2 cups cider
1 1/2 cups stewed tomatoes
1/2 bay leaf
1 tablespoon combined marjoram, parsley, sage, rosemary and monosodium glutamate
Salt and pepper

Parboil chicken pieces for 10 minutes. Cool. Remove skin. Dredge in combined 1/4 cup flour, 3/4 teaspoon salt and 1/8 teaspoons of the butter in skillet. Add chicken onion. Saute until chicken is golden brown on both sides. Arrange chicken in greased casserole.

Melt remaining two tablespoons butter in saucepan. Blend in the 1/3 cup flour. Add cider. Cook, stirring over low heat until thickened and smooth. Add stewed tomato, bay leaf and seasonings; bring to a boil. Season to taste. Pour sauce over chicken. Cover. Bake at 300 degrees F until tender, about 1 1/2 hours. Uncover the last 30 minutes. Yield: 8 portions.

In the kitchen with Jean Harlow, 1937 “Personal Property”

About giraffe44

I became a Robert Taylor fan at the age of 15 when his TV show, "The Detectives" premiered. My mother wanted to watch it because she remembered Mr. Taylor from the thirties. I took one look and that was it. I spent the rest of my high school career watching Robert Taylor movies on late night TV, buying photos of him, making scrapbooks and being a typical teenager. College, marriage and career intervened. I remember being sad when Mr. Taylor died. I mailed two huge scrapbooks to Ursula Thiess. I hope she got them. Time passed, retirement, moving to Florida. Then in 2012 my husband Fred pointed that there were two Robert Taylor movies that evening on Turner Classic Movies--"Ivanhoe" and "Quentin Durward." I watched both and it happened all over again. I started this blog both for fans and for people who didn't know about Robert Taylor. As the blog passes 200,000 views I'm delighted that so many people have come by and hope it will help preserve the legacy of this fine actor and equally good man.
This entry was posted in Biography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Robert Taylor, Chef

  1. Elaine Clark says:

    do you remember a recipe he had , my mother called it robert taylors favorite dish:
    It was carrots, string beans, tomatoes, and celery in a sauce over Bisquick cheese biscuits. I loved that as a child and have been trying to find the recipe forever, i used to have it but lost it….

  2. Does anyone know of a receipe for Robert Taylor’s no bake lemon chew -supposed to be one of his favourite receipes, it was in the newspaper in the UK – Daily Mirror I think – many years ago, I would love to have it again, if anyone knows about it.

  3. AHHHHHH I know what I will be cooking for dinner now. Wow. Just when I thought the man couldn’t possibly have ANY MORE TALENTS. He was a cook. Oh my word. I cannot handle it. Thank you for sharing as per usual. I am very grateful for this.

  4. giraffe44 says:

    Apparently Mr. Taylor also designed jewelry for Barbara Stanwyck–another talent.

    • What! Is there no end to the things this man could do?? He was a “Handy man to have around the house” As his character Dick Winfield says to Loretta Young in Private Number. Goodness.

Leave a Reply

