Robert Taylor Behind the Scenes: “Ivanhoe” and “Rogue Cop”

Ivanhoe 1952

Robert Taylor enjoyed making Ivanhoe.  He told Hedda Hopper:

“It went very well.  It was the most pleasant picture I’ve ever made over there [England].  Dick Thorpe, who directed is fast and efficient. We really worked.  There was no nonsense.  We didn’t just sit around.”

He also denied to Hopper that he had taken out Elizabeth Taylor or Joan Fontaine (“definitely not”) when making the film. (Charles Tranberg, Robert Taylor a Biography, BearManor Media, 2011, page 242.)

ustinovRT4594????RT3723
Left to right: Peter Ustinov, Nero in “Quo Vadis,” visits the Ivanhoe set; just waiting; chatting with one of the locals; watching Joan Fontaine freshening her makeup.

RT1852RT3296RT3295????
Left to right: Robert Taylor, Joan Fontaine & Director Richard Thorpe; Keeping the armor dry; Elizabeth Taylor and Robert Taylor chat on the set; the Taylors wait.

RT3292RT7855RT3294
Left to right: George Sanders, Elizabeth Taylor, Robert Taylor enjoying a cuppa; Emlyn Williams, Elizabeth Taylor and Robert Taylor on a break; Elizabeth learns about medieval warfare.

Rogue Cop 1954

Janet Leigh recalled working with Taylor fondly.  “My swan song was not too memorable, she wrote in her autobiography,” except that Rogue Cop paired me with Robert Taylor.  He was a beautiful man, always modest and self effacing.”  Bob was delighted with his part in Rogue Cop.  “I finally got back into a blue suit,” he quipped at the time.  “It’s much more comfortable than a suit of armor, believe me.”  Tranberg, page 267.)

RT6111RT1651????RT6103
Left to right: Having a cuppa with George Raft and Janet Leigh; Playing the piano as Janet Leigh sings and  Steve Forrest who played Mr. Taylor’s younger brother in the film,  plays the guitar; showing George Raft how to use the camera; being photographed as he studies his script.

abcabcRT6109
Left to right; Wardrobe test; Janet Leigh makes a cat’s cradle; chatting with Janet Leigh and George Raft.

 

 

 

About giraffe44

I became a Robert Taylor fan at the age of 15 when his TV show, "The Detectives" premiered. My mother wanted to watch it because she remembered Mr. Taylor from the thirties. I took one look and that was it. I spent the rest of my high school career watching Robert Taylor movies on late night TV, buying photos of him, making scrapbooks and being a typical teenager. College, marriage and career intervened. I remember being sad when Mr. Taylor died. I mailed two huge scrapbooks to Ursula Thiess. I hope she got them. Time passed, retirement, moving to Florida. Then in 2012 my husband Fred pointed that there were two Robert Taylor movies that evening on Turner Classic Movies--"Ivanhoe" and "Quentin Durward." I watched both and it happened all over again. I started this blog both for fans and for people who didn't know about Robert Taylor. As the blog passes 200,000 views I'm delighted that so many people have come by and hope it will help preserve the legacy of this fine actor and equally good man.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Films and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Robert Taylor Behind the Scenes: “Ivanhoe” and “Rogue Cop”

  1. Mary Moseley says:

    The actor playing the guitar is actor Steve Forrest who plays Robert Taylor’s younger brother in Rogue Cop. He is also Dana Andrew’s younger brother.

  2. Hello,Judith! Thank You for the interesting note and photo. These movies i watched with pleasure,especially the “Ivanhoe”. Very interesting photo – playing “cradle for cats”. This is a game with different pieces of yarm on your fingers? In my childhood i played this game. It turns out this is an international game! With respect Lina.

  3. giraffe44 says:

    Yes, I played that game as a child, too. I guess we have a lot in common. 🙂 Judith

  4. dianne345 says:

    RT playing the piano – does this mean he probably really was playing in the wonderful scene from “Tip on a Dead Jockey” with Dorothy Malone? Also in scenes in other movies where he was supposed to be playing the piano, such as “Three Comrades”?

    • giraffe44 says:

      Yes, I think so, Dianne. Definitely in “Three Comrades” because you can see his hands. He also played in “Broadway Melody of 1938.” Mr. Taylor was a trained musician, after all. The scene with Dorothy Malone is one of my favorites. I can’t think of any other piano playing scenes. Nice to hear from you.

  5. Nadia says:

    I just wanted to thank you for making and posting on this page. I am 15 years old and my passion is 1920s-1950s cinema and Robert Taylor is my favourite actor. I love him more than anything and it’s so nice that others appreciate him too!

  6. Hello,Judith! Hello,Nadia! I was 5 yares old when i fell in love with Robert Taylor. I saw his films:”Waterloo bridge” and “Camille”. He blew me away with theier beauty and talent.

    • Nadia says:

      The first movie I saw with him was Camille too! He was really a beautiful man and actor and he should be appreciated by more people. My dream is to be a film historian so I can keep the memory of Old Hollywood stars for many decades to come!

      • giraffe44 says:

        Nadia, what a great idea–we need people to do this. I found Mr. Taylor through “The Detectives.” My mother was also a fan. Thanks to you and Lina for writing.

  7. dianne345 says:

    I discovered him in “Quo Vadis” when I was 12 & have been a fan ever since, even though there haven’t been any new RT movies or TV shows since his tragic early death in 1969. Damn those cigarettes! But he left a lot of fine work behind for us to enjoy over & over. (And very sadly, a beautiful young widow & their children,Terry & Tessa.) My mother was a fan too. You blog keeps his memory alive in a wonderful way. Thanks so much, Judith!

  8. dlin389 says:

    Yes, there is another piano playing scene in Her Cardboard Lover, where he was playing piano while talking with George Sanders. You can see his hands at first. That part of piano he played was interesting and he acted wonderfully.

    • giraffe44 says:

      I’d forgotten that scene–thanks for reminding me. Mr. Taylor was a good musician on at least two instruments (cello and piano) and well as a wonderful actor. Thanks for writing.

  9. giraffe44 says:

    I appreciate this so much. My whole goal in doing this is to remind people what a fine actor and a fine person Robert Taylor was. As you say, those damn cigarettes. It’s a shame no one could make him appreciate how awful the consequences would be–not only for him but for Ursula, Terry and Tessa as well. Now if they would only give him a posthumous lifetime achievement Oscar!! Thanks for writing again.

  10. Nadia says:

    Hi again!

    Is there anyone who knows if i can watch “Society Doctor” anywhere? I’ve looked for it online for ages and I live in Sweden so I cant find a DvD or buy one from the U.S because they are in region 1 (and far too expensive). If anyone knows where I can watch the film I’d be really thankful.
    /Nadia

    • giraffe44 says:

      Nadia, I don’t know of anywhere the film “Society Doctor” is available. It doesn’t get any attention from television and I’ve never seen it for sale. I’m sorry I can’t help.

      • Nadia says:

        No problem 🙂 I’ve been looking for that movie for such a long time and today I found it! I’m really really happy and I shall finish watching it tomorrow.

  11. Hello, Nadia! I am very glad that there are young people like You who love classic Hollywood and especially Robert Taylor. If You dedicate the theme of their profession – it will be great! Robert Taylor underservedy underrated as an actor. Let the youth know what he’s a wonderful actor and a wonderful person! And You,like Judith, You will be able to say – thank You very much for the memory of Robert Taylor. I lowe to draw Hollywood 30-60-s: Vivien Leigh,Elizabeth Taylor,Ava Gardner,Audrey Hepburn,Marilyn Monroe, etc. But most of all i love to draw Robert Taylor. We on the Internet have a website “Odnoklassniki.ru”. I put my drawings and acguaint thus with Robert Taylor and his films.Do it to it remembered. Good Luck To You!

    • Nadia says:

      Thank you! I can’t imagine a life without classic hollywood! It’s my passion! My favourites are 1920s and 1930s films and actors and Robert Taylor is my absolute favourite. I like to draw classic actors and actresses too! I dave drewn Robert Taylor, Rudy Valentino, Ronald Colman, Ivor Novello and Janet Gaynor which are some of my favourites! I really want the memory of classic hollywood to live as long as I live and I will try to make it true! Thanks for writing Lina 🙂

  12. giraffe44 says:

    Nadia, where did you find “Society Doctor?” Judith

    • Nadia says:

      Someone uploaded it on a website called veehd.com. I watch the classic movies I can’t find on DVD there! But you’ll have to make an account to be able to watch the films 🙂 when you’ve made an account you can just search for society doctor and watch it 🙂

  13. giraffe44 says:

    Thank you.Nadia. I didn’t know about this. Judith

    • Nadia says:

      No problem! I had not watched society doctor before but now I have so I’m very happy! By the way Robert’s autograph was for sale in Sweden and I bought it! I cant wait until it arrives! I will frame it and hang it on my wall among my other pictures of old hollywood stars 🙂 I just thought I’d share this because I’m very happy about it. / Nadia

  14. giraffe44 says:

    Congratulations. I’m sure you will enjoy the autograph.

  15. Hello,Nadia! Where can i look at Your drawings,especially the portraits of Robert Taylor?

Leave a Reply

